The RETINA project brings together Austrian and Slovenian research institutions from the field of materials science. Central network access is intended to benefit companies in the border region in particular.


The aim of the project is to create easy and efficient access to research and innovation infrastructure for companies in the border region Austria - Slovenia. This will be particularly useful for the development of new materials for industrial applications (energy storage, electronics, pharmaceuticals, aerospace, etc.).

The available research infrastructure for the development of new products should be presented in a transparent way and provide companies with fast access to measurements and analyses. The willingness of companies to invest in research should be increased and contribute to improving competitiveness.

To achieve this objective, the project will organize information events, laboratory visits and pilot actions in collaboration with industry and research centers. The activities are aimed at scientific partners, knowledge transfer agents, industries and decision-makers in order to maximize the impact.


Under the direction of the University of Nova Gorica, the project involves Polymer Competence Center Leoben GmbH (PCCL), which contributes its expertise in the field of polymer technology and sciences, as well as the Primorska Technology Park (SLO), Kemijski Institute (SLO), Graz University of Technology, Montan University Leoben and the  research center for smart sensors & micro-electronics Silicon Austria Labs GmbH (all from Austria) take part in the project.

Project facts


Programme: EU - INTERREG V-A Slovenia-Austria

Project coordinator: University Nova Gorica (SLO)

Duration: 3 years (06.2017 – 05.2020)

Consortium:  7 Partners from 2 countries

Research volume: 1.8  Mio Euro

Your contact person

Lukas Neumaier, MSc

Senior Scientist | Advanced Sensors & Electronics Technologies


Research program

The work is part of the project “RETINA” and has been co-financed from European funds within the INTERREG V-A-Slovenia-Austria programme.



Member Area