The SAL Doctoral College (SAL-DC) is a doctoral program for training Europe's up-and-coming talents in the field of EBS. We are proud to announce that with our new SAL-DC CRYSTALLINE program, we will be hiring and training 18 PhD students. CRYSTALLINE is supported by the European Commission under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie Cofund Action (MSCA). Together with our statutory partner universities TU Graz, AAU Klagenfurt and JKU Linz and other partners from a renowned, international academic and industry network, we will be calling for high potential PhD candidates.

Innovative topics for a smart future

Our new colleagues will join us to advance cutting-edge research in the field of electronic based systems. The topics for our first call issued in January 2024 range from power electronics to high-resolution microscopy for biological and medical applications, 6G communications and AI at the edge, and can be found on the CRYSTALLINE website. Our second call will follow in spring. When applying, please consider that the CRYSTALLINE program positions are dedicated and restricted to PhD candidates who fulfill the mobility rules of the MSCA-Cofund action. Among these rules is the prerequisite that no candidate has lived, worked or studied in Austria for more than 12 months within the last three years.

The SAL-DC and CRYSTALLINE management board consisting of Dr. Hans-Peter Bernhard, Dr. Christian Hofbauer and Dr. Ingo Pill is looking forward to receiving your applications. At the SAL-DC and within the whole of SAL we are thrilled to welcome our new colleagues!

Academic network

  • Alpen-Adria-University Klagenfurt
  • Johannes Kepler University Linz
  • Graz University of Technology
  • Aalborg University
  • Aarhus University
  • Brno University of Technology
  • Chalmers University of Technology
  • Eurecom
  • Fondazione Bruno Kessler
  • Friedrich Alexander University of Erlangen-Nuremberg
  • Gdansk University of Technology
  • Helmut Schmidt Universität Hansestadt Hamburg
  • Ikerlan S.COOP
  • Imperial College London
  • KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Marmara University
  • Özyeğin University
  • RWTH Aachen University
  • Slovak University of Technology
  • TU Munich
  • University of Freiburg
  • University of Luxembourg
  • University of Stuttgart
  • University of Udine
  • University Paris-Saclay
  • Virtual Vehicle

Industrial network

  • ABB Corporate Research Sweden
  • AVL List GmbH
  • Fronius International GmbH
  • voestalpine Stahl GmbH